SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

magrez...72...reviews? thoughts?

iv been thinking about selling all my scopes and funding for one of these

iv had a search and i cant find any real reviews (the search keeps removing the 72 from the Megrez as its "too short"

id be using it primiary for widefield AP with my dslr or might get a CCD

also has any one tried video AP on one

for the days its not clear enought for AP how do they fair for visual

any thoughts good or bad greatly welcomed :glasses2:

Hi Gaz.

IMHO, the Megrez 72 is the "little scope that can". I've been using one for astrophotography for a couple of years now, and whilst I'm certainly no astrophoto wizard, I'd highly recommend it. The combination of portability and good optics is what attracted me to it in the first place. It's short focal lenght makes it ideally suited to DSLR work, provided you use a field flattener. It's a well machined piece of kit for a very reasonable price.

The early models suffered from focuser "creep", especially if your attaching any weight to it. However I believe that WO has now sorted this out with the latest model.

It's great for wide field visual work too due to its compact size. I often use it with a 2" 32mm Skywatcher PanaView eyepice, and with that combination you don't need a finder!

I've never tried astrovid with it, but its limited aperture might be an issue here, depending on what you're using.

Hope this helps,

Colin

I have got one and can recommend it for wide field AP with sky watcher flattener. Its not heavy (so my eq5 can handle it without any problems) and focusing is so much better comparing to my old Newtonian telescope. Chromatic aberration on bright stars is little issue, but since I have started using Astronomik CLS Light Pollution EOS Clip Filter, this issue is gone.

i thought these scopes were doublets... so the CA was lost...... lol learn summet new :rolleyes: