Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Wireless EQdirect

Kaminovs

Hi,

Need some tech help on one issue:

I have made Bluetooth EqDirect interface, device itself working properly and I see on my pc apeared 2 Com ports: one incoming and one outgoing.

Problem is I have no experience setting up EQMod software and so I cant figure out a way to attach device to software.

I installed ASCOM platform and EQmod itself.

In Setup EQASCOM than I push serach for com port or set up manually Com port ( 6 in my case) it kinda allows me to upuch ok, so I assume it found something usefull on Com6.

But than I go into AQAScom_run all I get is Connect Error: Timeout

Any ideas are HIGHLY appreciated... I literaly banging my head against a wall at this point.

Cheers!

Hi Kaminovs

I have no experience of EQMOD, but from your second line I would guess that your problem lies n the fact that EQMOD (and most other software for mount control) is expecting a bi-directional COM port not one for TX and the other for RX.

Do you have a Synscan system or just a Syntrek.

if it's a Synscan I'd suggest getting it to work over the serial link with a cable first with Stellarium or Carte Du Ciel, then get it to work over blue tooth.

Only when you have proved the functionality of the blue tooth link try and set up EQMOD.

Hope this helps

Paul

Kaminovs you are correct the mounts are identical. The hand controllers determine the functionality. I take it you are using Windows, do you have any further error messages in the event viewer? It might also be worth searching or posting on the EQMOD forum for similar issues.

Nah, its always Connect error: timeout

LED on my device suggest some activity than I acess it , so it seems working as it should be. My windws vista see 2 virtual com ports. one inbound one outbound. AS some folks suggested I hook EQmod to outbound ports. But no luck. Well, same for inbound ports aswell.

I tried lowering bodrate on COM port to 4800.. no use.