Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Mount Megantic Observatory

BellatrixC4

Hello there :( I'm not too sure if I am posting this in the correct area of the forum, but I'll post here anyways. Correct me if I should move it elsewhere. ^^''

So, this weekend was a very special weekend for me! As I've mentioned before in my "introduction thread" I'm pretty new to owning such a big telescope. I only used to work with a small, cheap, department store thing. Until recently, having an 8 inch Dob now :BangHead:

Anyways, I live right beside Ottawa and while it's possible for me to find nice spots to do my exploring, I still get massive light pollution at a low Elevation. I still get to see whatever I want, But I gotta wait till the sky rotates for the things I'd like to observe. Therefore, I end up staying up til crazy hours haha (Well even on lightly polluted skies I end up staying late, I can never feel the time go by when I sit back and enjoy the view.)

So this weekend, I decided I should leave. Go explore. (another one of my hobbies is driving. I love to drive far off distances just to explore.) So, looking at my road atlas, I saw this place called Mount Megantic. I had heard about it before, because Canada's most performant observatory is located there. I decided that it would be a perfect location for me! So, I didn't get to look through their telescope that night, because the techs were all gone. I'll go back soon though hehe. ^^

So I thought I'd share some pics with you guys!

Here's me with the observatory ;)

283473_10150260294518959_517063958_7423458_5217335_n.jpg

More to come. I can't get the stupid other things to get through >///<

Hello Bellatrix, (I assume you are the attractive young lady in the centre of the photo rather than the guy to the left :BangHead:). What scope do they have in the observatory?. I look forward to your forthcoming photos.