SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

confused !!!

Hi complete newbie, have read and re read through previous postings but still would like to ask.......

want to buy my first telescope and have done hours of research, i have come to the decision of a Skywatcher explorer 130, but then i read about the 130P which is more expensive but has parabolic mirrors which i understand would be better. I then found the 1145P which is cheaper but has the P, so if i cant stretch to the higher cost would I be better off with a 1145p with the parabolic mirror or to stick with the 130 non parabolic.

Hope this makes sense and thanks for reading.

Joanne

Hi jojo , have you thought of a s/h dobsonian you could pick up a 200mm for the same price as a new 130 or even a 150mm dob very cheap s/h , just to confuse you more ;-)

Ps welcome to sgl.

Sent from my HTC Wildfire using Tapatalk

Hi

I think it depends on the f/ratio if they are f/10 then spherical would be Ok but short f/ratio spherical mirrors are utterly useless.

Anything faster than f/8 I would steer well clear of regardless of aperture, if it were not parabolic.

Regards Steve

Hi Joanne,

I know you are keen to get started, but therte really isn't any deadline you are working to here. Just take your time and do some more research. Ask more questions of the members here.

The second hand market is not to be ignored, many a great bargain can be found if you wait for them to crop up.

A 200mm. f5 Dobsonian would be an Ideal start for you. Quite managable physically, and nothing too technical to contend with.

There are some decent 114mm and 130mm scopes, but aperture plays a big role in observational astronomy, so give some deep thought to your decision making.

Just my thoughts on the subject, and you are free to ignore them as you see fit :D.

Good Luck.

Ron.