Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What is auto guiding ?

Vega

Hi

I'm kind of new to this fine tuned polar aligning lark. Having done my first successful drift alignment I noticed auto guiding being mentioned in these parts...

Can anyone explain to me what this involves ?

Can it be done with an EQ3-2 mount ?

Cheers

A newly aligned Matt :)

I am a complete novice so I will take a guess and make the others laugh. Auto-guiding seems to involve a hideously expensive CCD (charge-coupled device), a computer for processing the digital image that comes out of it and determining which way stars are drifting and motors that can be controlled from a computer. What I am not sure is whether this happens at the same time as the CCD is collecting your "real" picture or not, whether you use another piggyback scope for this guiding and many other things besides. We will soon be told...

Thats pretty much it Themos. To guide you can either use a seperate scope, a camera with two chips (a guide chip and a imaging chip) or one camera and scope alternating inbetween guiding and imaging. Although the last option sounds by far the easiest/ cheapest it has its own set of problems - mainly the increase in time needed to image an object.

No, I'm afraid the EQ3/2 can't autoguide without some major mods.

Auto guiding is where, as Themos suggested, a camera is used to monitor a star. This guide star, as its called, starts off in a certain position on the guide camera's chip. Software monitors the position on the chip and detects movement away from the start position. If a movement is detected the computer issues commands to the mount in an attempt to move the image of the guide star back into the correct place on the camera chip.