Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First ever RGB - M81 and M82

OK so be gentle chaps as I'm new to this.

Cocked up by having the RGB frames rotated with respect to the luminance frame by about 30 degrees. It probably pays to do them all at the same time I guess, or have some kind of alignment system.

Anyway, between the clouds last night I managed to get some RGB through the filters which arrived so I've had a quick go at lining them all up.

Each colour was copied into the luminace as a seperate layer and a hue/saturation clipping mask layer added on top of each to give them colour. RGB layers set as screen type layers with a second luminance frame over the top of it all set to luminosity.

It could definitely be better if I knew what I was doing in Photoshop, but here it is for your delectation.

image.jpg

Captain Chaos

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Just as it came out of the Atik Rog. I had to lasso M81 and wind it up a bit to keep M82 under control, but it's pretty much raw out of the camera. Now I need something colourful to try next as M42 seems to have got a bit low down suddenly.

Did the luminance with a CLS filter unbinned and the RGB binned 2X2 with the CLS and the RGB filters. I'd forgot that I'd left the CLS on the camera nose until I'd focused it so I left it on to ensure that light pollution wouldn't mess it all up. Don't know if that's a good thing or a no-no.

Captain Chaos

Once Rog. has got himself all domed up and guiding he'll be in a different league altogether. Personally I can't wait to see what he comes up with, it'll knock this one into a cocked hat.

Captain Chaos