Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepiece Help...

Hi all, I was just wondering if someone could help me choose a wide or super wide eyepiece for my Meade ls6 acf scope. Im new to Astronomy and the site and so far have purchased the meade series 4000 eyepiece set which is great but now want to have a super wide ep. I cant afford to buy them all so was wondering which would be say (a happy medium) thanks alot.

Regards,

Andy

Ps just joining Cotswold Astronomical society so If anyone is a member, Il look forward to meeting you.

If you stick with 1.25" format eyepieces, the maximum field of view is provided by a 32mm plossl (52 degrees) or a 24mm wide angle such as a Hyperion (68 degrees). They will both show you the same amount of sky, just at different magnifications.

If you can move to 2" eyepieces then the field of view can be wider but I'm not sure whether the small rear aperture of the LS6 makes this worthwhile.

To be honest, most eyepieces perform well at F/10 so you don't need to spend really big bucks, unless you really want to.

If you do move to 2" you will need a new diagonal as well of course.

If you want top quality in the 1.25" fitting I'd be thinking of a Tele Vue Panoptic 24mm.

Thanks, looks like I will be saving then. Just a bit worried the ep is better than my scope lol. I will stick with 1.25 " for now until I start getting my head around the right way. Ha Ha.

I did however see a thread on here about the meade 4.7 ultra wide which is selling on ebay for about £66.55, £80.00 inc postage from a guy in america who people have dealt with and said is very good. However another thread suggests that this ep is poor quality what with no soft eyepiece and they were not too happy with the optics or price either! Any Thoughts ???

Thanks Chaps,

PS -Hi Rik, I will see you on saturday.