SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Don't wait to replace those standard eyepieces!

StevieDvd

Most of my eyepiecs were the ones that came with the scopes. I did buy a 'quality' barlow (Celestron Ultima) but thought it may be a while till I started to build up some 'quality' eyepieces as well.

I needed to get a shoe & connector for a multi-reticule rdf I got off astroboot and knew that Skys The Limit (STL) sold them - I'm not one to do small purchases so I had a excuse to spend a little more.

The result was I ended up buying 3 of the BST Explorer ED eyepieces in 5mm, 15mm & 25mm and collecting them as STL are local to me. Now I'm no expert in eyepieces but I had not expected such a huge difference between the scope supplied ones and more expensive ones. I know in my other headphone/hi-fi hobby that small differences can come at big price jumps so was not expecting too much.

The images on the STL website don't really shout quality and to be honest nor does the pricing; but given a full refund option on offer I only had time to lose on the deal.

As we have not had much in the way of clear skies, or dark skies for that matter, I have not had too much usage from them so far. But the actual weight and quality is better than I expected from the web pictures, they are 'almost' par focal lenses as a bonus too.

So if you are fairly new to sky watching hobby (watching out for a clear sky being the main pastime) you may want to invest some time with some better eyepieces then the factory supplied ones - sooner than later. Especially if you can borrow them to try!

I expect some of the seasoned veterans will tell me that the real quality does come at a cost and no doubt that is true but I wish I had bridged this first gap a little sooner.