SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Are binoviewers worth it?

JohnC

I find myself doing alot of visual stuff at the moment with the Celestron 120 XLT refractor, a truly great and underated scope.

I have never used a binoviewer before and am wondering if they are a worthwhile purchase for moon and planets.

Are they used for dso as well?

Any advice is most welcome......and if anyone has one for sale :)

Best regards

John

Brantuk is right. I use mine on the back of an LX90. Fantastic on the Moon. It gives a real sense of 3D. Using both eyes is the way we were designrd. Our brain integrates the images and I think I get a better sense of both depth and resolution.

Tom

I can only second Dave. I find that my eyes get tired very quickly when concentrating on planets or the sun.

With the binoviewer its so relaxed and therefor I can watch longer and think I see more.

With DSO's naturaly you are halving the light coming in so it will be harder to see already faint objects.

Now I find the reverse. I can't get on with them at all. This makes me think that you should really try to get to an astrosoc and try them because it seems as if about 70 percent love them and 30 percent dislike them and no one falls in between! I have a lazy eye which may be at play in my case.

Olly

i had a pair of cheap ish revelation binos, all are alittle fiddly to set up but when i focused them and used them on the Moon the view was amazing, truly a 3d effect, first time i used them i just looked at the Moon for an hour it was that good

yes but only for moon and planets and only if your scope will come to focus with them without barlowing.

Thats exactly my take on them too. Good for lunar/planetary esp. if you don't have to mess around with Barlows and the like to bring them to focus.

The Baader correctors for their Maxbright and Mark V binos are great for that. With them you get every scope into focus.