Narrowband

Hey

Scott84

Newbie here, be gentle. :p

I've been into astronomy & physics for many years but never really had the time to persue it further. However that is no longer the case, so I thought I'd sign up and say hi. I'm from Cumbria and thankfully we have alot of areas with minimal light pollution.

I don't yet own any astronomy equipment, other than books and reference material so I'll be looking for some expert advise for choosing my first telescope and possibly a pair of binoculars as well.

Though I'm more interested in the scope so, having had a look around and reading up, I've come to the conclusion that most people recommend either Celestron or Sky Watcher scopes, and I've read that Meade scopes are like French cars, they have dodgy electrics.

So with this knowledge I have looked into Celestron and Sky Watcher, I read they are made by the same people but we'll leave that for another topic. :)

I am not too bothered about the scopes with auto tracking and alignment, I have a planisphere and a brain so I'd prefer the best quality lens and zoom as my main interests lay outside of our solar system in that of DSO's.

Now, the scope I was paying most attention to was the Sky Watcher Explorer 200p EQ5 however I have also seen the Sky Watcher SkyMax 127 (Various versions).

However I'm sure there's many more I have not seen or not paid attention to, so my questions is, what is the scope for the price bracket that the two scopes above sit in which will allow me to view DSO's as well as planets and of course our lovely moon.

Oh and if you could give me some advise on which type of filter and lens I can buy in addition as I read that the standard supplied lens' aren't the greatest.

Sorry for the essay. ;):)

Cheers.

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Scott and welcome to SGL