Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

EP / Scope question

Im just starting out in the Hobby and so far I am really enjoying it. For my first scope I purchased an Orion XT6 Dobsonian and I am very pleased with it, really enjoying the time Im spending in my yard learning how to star hop.

I had my first very clear night opportunity to try and find a Nebula this past Saturday and I was able to find both M57 and M27. Firstly, it was an absolute thrill for me to be able to find them at alll and then to take in the idea of what it was I was looking at and just how amazing it was. I was using a 40mm Orion Highlight Plossl with a Orion Narrowband filter to first locate the objects, then I took in closer views with a 25mm Plossl. I was surprised at just how much a difference the filter made, especially with the Dumbbell Nebula, which was faint almost to the popint of obscurity without the filter. I was also surprised to see that unlike a cluster, it seemed I could hold a good view with higher resolutions (10mm) although they were darker because of the higher magnification EP.

I have a few questions though. I understand with Plossl EP's the higher the magnification the darker the viewable image is. Can somebody explain how / why that happens?

Secondly, as I was observing the objects I started wondering how different they would appear in a larger scope. I opted for the 6" Dob because although I really wanted to jump in with a larger scope I thought it would be best for me to take my time and learn to find what Im looking for. There are times though (Saturday night included) I wish I had a gone with the larger scope. The 6" has optical diameter of 150mm and a focal length of 1200mm. The 10" numbers were 254/1200. What I don’t understand is that would objects appear any larger from a 6" to a 10" dob or just more visable because of the additional light intake?

hi there and welcome to SGL!