Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DSO DSLR imaging - what else do I need?

I have a SW130P AZ GoTo and a Canon 40D + T ring adaptor and 1.25" nosepiece. Also have cable remote / timer for Canon.

I understand that the camera body causes problems with the focus. Do I need some form of extension tube. Should I just connect the canon to the 2" fitting on the SW130P?

What are the benefits of either. What filters might I need?

I'm no expert but reflectors can have a problem where by the focuser doesn't have enough inward travel to achieve focus, so you cant get your camera in close enough.

My Skywatcher 150P has a removable piece on the focuser, if you unscrew that you can then attach the camera further forward. If you still cant focus then a barlow can help by effectively multiplying the focus travel you have to play with.

Say you have 30mm of inward focus but to get your DSLR into focus you need 45mm. A 2x barlow doubles the focal length of your telescope and also effectively gives you 60mm of play on the focuser. At least that's how I understand it.

There is a bit of an issue with the 130P at prime focus with a DSLR. The focuser is about 1" too long to get the telescope to focus directly onto the chip. Extenders don't work as they are moving the camera in the wrong direction.

The way around this is to insert something in the way that extends the focusing back away from the eyepiece.

Most people use a x2 barlow lens although this also has the dis-advantage of doubling the focal length of the scope to 1300mm and increasing the f-rating meaning imaging is much more difficult.

I'm not sure how accurately the AZ-Goto mount will track but I found the above setup was just too much for my DSLR on deep sky objects.

Other options you might have is a lower powered barlow (x1.25) or possibly a focal reducer. I've also read about about certain coma correctors having the effect of extending the focal point backwards as well.