Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice Please

I have just had a Telescope bought for me by my wife as a birthday gift as i have a intreast at looking at the stars :), well i am still learning how to use it (Skywatcher 102) with a Synscan controller and motorised mount of which i am still learning to use, you know hit each button and go figure, i have not calibrated it yet as i dont know how...but i have looked at stars, now this is the part i need help on as the rest i will learn , the planets and stars i look at appear like dark globes when i focus in on them and if a draw back they are like bright stars throught the naked eye, is this what i should expect to see?

Forgive my niavety but is that what i should expect to see, as for the moon its not in postion for me to see at this time as it lays on the western horizon, but as for stars i was expecting to see ..i dont know something better?.

I havr tried using the Barlow x2 with 2 other peices a super 25 wideangle and super 10mm, and i using the wrong adapters?

Hi and Welcome,

The stars will look pretty much like crisper brighter versions of what you can see with the naked eye, just an awful lot more of them!!

Planets however should show more detail. Have a look at Saturn. You should clearly see the rings,maybe not the division, but a good crisp image . You may even see the moons if the seeing is good. Try to have a look tonight shortly after dark when Saturn is still fairly high, I think you will be pleased.

Good luck

Hi, and welcome to SGL!

When you are focussed properly on stars all you will see is a bright tight points of light. This is because the stars are so far away. If you look at the closer/larger planets you will see them as disks and depending on conditions and magnification pick up detail too (eg the bands on Jupiter, marking on Mars and the rings of Saturn).. You'll also see the larger moons of planets.

The moon will be great through your scope!