Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Diseased M13... any ideas?

Dear all,

My M13 looks rather ill. Would you say that this is a result of poor focus, or something else awry while stacking? I'm testing out a CLS filter, although it seemed to perform alright on another very faint target from earlier...

post-18683-133877612105_thumb.jpg

I'm hoping someone else has seen something similar before?

All the best,

Mike

Stars that look like rings seem to indicate a focus problem - but I have very little experience with stacking software. That said, the rings don't look symmetrical enough for a focus error on a well collimated scope. Can you determine if there is any ring-like star features on the single frames? It really doesn't look like coma, either - that tends to get worse as you move away from the center of the field, and I don't see any evidence of that either. :)

The only other optical thing I can think of is dew. That might account for both the ring shaped stars and the inconsistency in the shapes. Dew droplets tend to be of a very consistent size as they form, and your rings are all about the same size; as opposed to say, dust particles, which have a Gaussian random distribution that shows more variance in distortion effects.

If it isn't an optical problem, I think maybe you need some of the software boffins here to help you out. I'm out of my depth with that stuff.

Good luck to you!

Dan

Keep an eye on the cooling. I found that if I push the cooling too hard, the sensor window can dew up (and I got a result exactly like the effect you have posted). Also, the heatsink on the 8L is marginal...if you push the cooling power over 70% (according to the QHY forums) then heat can leak back onto the cold side of the TEC as the heatsink cannot shift the heat load.

I now have a small dew strip wrapped around the extension tubes to keep the air inside above the dewpoint. I've not tested it yet, but I can't see it not working.