Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Refractors... is size important?

Hi All,

I'm planning to get a fairly fast refractor as a main scope with an aim to using it for imaging (Planets & some DSO), but haven't a clue whether, as a total newbie, it's worth getting as large an aperture as possible within my budget, or settling for something mid-range.

What is the difference between an 80mm and say a 127mm? and as a newbie am I really going to be able to tell the difference?

Will a cheap-ish 127mm be "better" than a high quality 80mm

Confused!

Any help appreciated :)

Are you referring to Apochromats (I'll include ED doublets in that) or Achromats or aren't you differentiating?

If the price difference is because you are comparing a 127mm achromat and a 80mm Apo there is a world of difference. the main thing you'll notice is the absence of colour fringing on the Apo. Apart from that the lens in the Apo will probably have a better figure. The apo will probably come with a better focusser and have a better build quality generally.

Hi Haitch,

Thanks for the reply.

I think my question was a bit misleading... what I'm trying to get at is if there is any major discernible difference between the quality of scopes in the same range as you move up the aperture sizes.

e.g. Using SW Evostar ED range example

Evostar 80ED £375

Evostar 100ED £670

Evostar 120ED £1095

Will I notice a major difference between the 100ED & 120ED as a newbie, other than the difference in the weight of my wallet?

Many Thanks.

I am not an imager but based on general comments of others, in terms of image quality and assuming the same optical quality in the comparison, there will be no difference. a wider aperture for the same focal ratio means more focal length which means it's harder to guide/track accurately and it is more affected by wind etc. also, more focal length means a stronger/heavier/more expensive mount than is required for a smaller aperture / shorter focal length.