sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_annual.thumb.jpg.3fc34f695a81b16210333189a3162ac7.jpg

Hello from St Albans, Herts, UK !

Drakester

Hi All,

I've been thoroughly bitten by the astronomy bug and after hours and hours of surfing I've come across this excellent forum.

I have no Astronomy kit at all, and as a complete newbie am currently researching my first scope and other kit.

My main aims, i think, are to try and get semi-decent photos of the planets and some DSO's.

My Astro knowledge is pretty much zero. Rather embarrassingly all I remember is from being a boy-scout about 25 years ago is how to recognise the big-dipper and the Pole star etc (..and the moon !), but that's about it.

Over the last few weeks I've been distracted by the flash marketing of the computerised scopes like the Meade Lightswitch series and similar Celestron scopes, but have read learnt enough to realise now that I will need something slightly better if my images are to anything other than tiny fuzzy blobs.

I'm at the point now where I think a nice refractor would suit me. This decision is mainly due to image quality coupled with lack of maintenance, I wouldn't know where to begin with collimation, and portability, something easily set up and put away, and something I could chuck in the back of the car.

My budget keeps growing, but I need to realistically stop at £1500 for the scope and mount. My current muse is the Evostar 120 ED Pro with a HEQ5 Goto Mount.

I have chosen this set up as I'm presuming a 120 is better than a 100 or an 80mm aperture (Really need advice here as this is obviously the budget pinch point), and ashamedly I think I really need a Goto mount to start off with.

Imaging equipment will follow in a later stage of the hobby, but for now I'm thinking of somehow using my Fujifilm HS20EXR with a t-mount.

Am I on the right lines guys? :)

Any help most appreciated.

Cheers.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic