Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

To buy or not to buy

Hi everyone,

My first scope was a home built 6 inch Newtonian which served me well for many years. I then moved to a 120mm F8 Konus refractor on a nice German eq. which is my current scope. It is great on the moon and planets but I am a very keen photographer and have always had aspirations to take deep sky astrophotographs. I have tried a few shots with the Konus and have amazed myself with galaxies and globulars despite my relatively light polluted location.

Having come into a little cash and being in a position to splurge it on a new scope, I am seriously contemplating a new Celestron Edge HD 11 inch on the DX mount with a view to both visual and DSLR imaging. A dedicated CCD camera will come in the future I have little doubt.

I have read as much online info as I can find but would really welcome comment, especially from anyone who has actually used similar kit.

Thanks guys...

I think you may be better served with a Refractor for Astrophotography. The celestro have a long focal lenght, and will be very dificult to guide it.

Something like a 100mm refractor with a good mount.

best regards

If you use the Edge HD with fastar, you have a VERY fast imaging scope, which should not be hard to guide. You could use a focal reducer, but that still leaves a long focal length. A DSLR is not the best solution for fastar, a dedicated CCD, especially the narrow starlight express are best for this.

The alternative is to get a fast APO (like the APM or TS 80mm F=480 I have (not yet been used for astrophotography, but a very good scope)).

I believe they have not yet released the dedicated focal reducer for the Edge scopes, that would definitely help and yes, hyperstar and CCD camera is ideal setup but DSLR at prime focus will have to do for now...

I think you may be better served with a Refractor for Astrophotography. The celestro have a long focal lenght, and will be very dificult to guide it.