Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Crisis Of Faith

pbyrne

Hi everyone.

I'm on the horns of a dilemma at the moment and I am wondering of anyone out there has gone thorugh the same issue?

My interest in astronomy has dropped to zero, I've been an amateur for more than 25 years and I find that I can't get myself interested. It's nothing to do with the weather or the time of the year, I've always been a big fan of summer observing, but I've found that even reading the magazines that I've always lapped up doesn't do it for me, my copy of Astronomy Now sits half read.

I've gotten to the stage now that I am giving some serious consideration to selling my entire kit and taking up birdwatching, of which I have taken a recent interest.

As I say, I've been at the game for 25 years and this is the first time I've experienced it. Is the feeling common? Has anyone else gone through this? And is there a solution?

Any, and all, comments gratefully accepted.

I cant say I have experienced this with astronomy, but certainly photography.

Ive been a very keen amateur photographer for nearly 10 years now, but over the past year or so my passion has severely dwindled. Thats when my passion for astronomy came back and I decided to combine photography and astronomy. Now my passion for photography is coming back. All I can say is Im glad I didnt sell all my kit!!!!

Not quite sure what to say, other than it does happen to the best of us, and for me a break and slight change of direction helped no end and allowed me to rekindle lost passions.

I've found with other hobbies sometimes you can loose enthusiasm and just can't seem to find the will to get going again and there may be no real reason for it.

All I can suggest is trying something new in Astronomy. Maybe try some solar Ha observing (sell some gear to pay for it) or try building your own dob for instance. Just something new to get interested in.

John