Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

SW coma corrector spacing

Hello friends,

I'm a newbie from Majorca.

Recently I read several posts about the Skywatcher coma corrector (CC) in this lounge, and as opinions are good, I bought one for my Newtonian 8" SW. Baader CC users says that they cannot focuse with a DSLR and some work has to be done to get it in focus.

Shooting with my Canon 40D, SW CC focus well, but stars are elongated, also in the center. I put some spacing and is better but problems continue.

I see that the space between the focal plane, say, the place where the chip is installed, and the CC glass, is 60 mm.

My question to SW CC users: Did you find same problems? Did you put some spacing rings to shoot with your DSLR?

Sorry for my bad english :D

Regards from our island, and thank you very much in advanced.

Can you post an image showing the problem?

I have a an SW Coma Corrector which works fine on my 200mm SW Newtonian and Canon camera, so it should work for you.

Not sure if you have this, but the attached file may shed some light.

I am able to directly attached my camera via the correct t adapter to the MPCC and slot this into my scope, with no spacers being used.

HTH

mpcc_e.pdf

Thank you very much for responding. Well, there are no problems installing the hardware, but as requested, I attach a picture shot tonight, driven with an autoguider (MaximDL + Orion Starshoot mono) and it worked very fine, with errors of 0,06 or so. The problem is better seen in the picture at 2X, hope you can see it, if not, I'll post a picture with more resolution. Thank you for your help.

swcomacorrector.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Thank you for your commets Brantuk.

Elongations in this (and other) pictures go in different directions, so the explanation can' be tracking. I shot a couple of pictures last night with no coma correction, and stars weren't elongated, tracking performed very well.