Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Question about Dark Edges in photos

Hey all,

Ive been dabbling in AP for a few months now. Im slowly gathering all the necessary equipment to build a descent rig. While Ive been waiting, I figured I would experiment with the equipment I currently have. My autoguider being the big piece Im waiting for. However, my question is about the pictures Ive taken during this experimenting. Going Prime Focus with my D3100 using a CG5 mount and C6 Newtonian, I have gotten some results. But I consistently have darker edges in the pictures with more noise and light in the center. Is there something to correct this (coma corrector perhaps) or is it something I am doing wrong (ISO 1600 too high) Ill attach a pic of M101, guided sidereal with the mount only no autoguiding, at ISO 1600 5min exposure. I added some darks in DSS as well.post-25769-1338776100_thumb.jpg Thanks guys.

Uneven illumination of the sensor - vignetting...

It can also be processed out...

Here's a link to one method...

Correct Vignetting with Photoshop

Many thanks. I have not really worried about it as PixInsight's DBE tool mostly just removes it. I will try using flats at some point to see how that improves the final image.

Another artefact I get in some subs with my 450D is a dark band at the bottom of the image. Any idea at the cause of this?

Below are a couple of very stretched subs from some auto guiding tests, the first without the banding and the second with the banding.

post-21918-13387761019_thumb.jpg

Sub without banding.

post-21918-133877610197_thumb.jpg

Sub with banding.

Cheers,

Chris

Once you do flats, I think you will be surprised at how much of an improvement that makes. Much better to get it right prior to processing I think.

Yes, I agree. The less processing that is needed the better I think. Now just to figure out how to take flats with my C9.25 as my laptop screen is not big enough!

Cheers,

Chris