Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Absolute beginner guide to astrophotography?

I was surprised not to find a sticky or primer anywhere about the very basics of any imaging through a telescope. Is there a good place to start?

I'm really talking basics, like I don't know what people mean by subs and stacks, how you even go about attaching a webcam to a telescope, can you image DSOs without a DSLR, do you use eyepieces and barlows, do you need a camera with detachable lens...

I only have a phone camera and a crappy point and shoot, so I assume I need to purchase a new camera, but I can't afford a DSLR.

Cheers

Boz

Here's what I learned so far after reading two books representing DSO and lunar/planetary plus reading articles on magazines and forums:

- You will need a PC even if using DSLR as processing images is a must

- Cheapest way: short exposures, because no need for accurate tracking

- DSLR is not always needed, instead use CCD cameras such as webcam (cheap) or dedicated ones (can be more expensive than DSLR)

There you go, the really short guide to beginning astrophotography!

Have to agree with Dave's (Rowan46) suggestion regarding Steve Richards book - its an essential read and you should read it from cover to cover before buying anything image related as it will definitely save you money!

James

I'll third that :D

I really recommend that you get Making Every Photon Count (by SGL's very own steppenwolf), before making a start into astro-photography.

Easy to read, it's full of good advice aimed at the imaging novice, including choosing the right equipment - explaining what kit you'll need and, more importantly, why. Helping you avoid poor choices and costly mistakes. There's also loads of tips 'n' tricks as well as lots of other vital stuff.

Have a trawl through the imaging sections too. They're full of info and some very experienced, talented folk who, I'm sure, will be more than happy to share advice and guidance with you.