Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Astrophotography beginner help (first steps)

Hi gang,

I'm toying with the idea of gettin a dslr:p, not just for use with my scope but general as well. I'm pretty much set on getting a Canon 1000d :p mainly down to positive reviews on here as well as elsewhere on T'internet. I want a camera that will perform well for astro.. but can still be used for normal photos.. landscapes etc.

As i understand it, to mount a dslr to a scope you first need to remove the zoom lens, use an adaptor (camera fitting one end/scope the other)

My current set-up:

127 Skywatcher MAK

8-24mm baader zoom eyepiece

eq 3-2 mount (not driven....yet!)

x2 barlow

With my current set-up what else would I need to attach a 1000d to my zoom eyepiece? I've read about T adapters but I've yet to find a basic how to set-up guide.

Any help or suggestions will be most welcomed. Please bear in mind I am completely new to photography so it's all pretty much Greek to me!!.........for now!:D

Thanks in adavance for any replies ;)

Greg :D

Default position: camera (no lens) - T mount - nosepiece - eyepiece holder (no eyepiece)

However, check if by removing the diagonal you have a thread that will attach directly to a T mount (thus saving a little expense). This also reduces the 'moveable' bits by one and so increases stability.

HTH

Default position: camera (no lens) - T mount - nosepiece - eyepiece holder (no eyepiece)

However, check if by removing the diagonal you have a thread that will attach directly to a T mount (thus saving a little expense). This also reduces the 'moveable' bits by one and so increases stability.

HTH

Thanks for the info :D

in the box with my zoom eyepiece there were some adapters but very little in the way of descriptions for each item. I assume these supplied adapters could be the 'nosepiece' of the above set-up?