Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M45 The Pleiades/Seven Sisters... 1 year on

TakMan

Hello again....

Had a bit of a cold (man flu) over the weekend, so it allowed me some processing 'free time' to have a first go at sorting my next lot of data out... my longest combined exposure to date of six and a half hours! :p

This time I was able to nail the focus using my newly purchased RoboFocuser and the 'auto focus' V-Curve routine from within the Equinox Image software I use.

I've added a comparison to a first attempt - Imaged on the 22nd Dec 2009 - with the focal reducer in place (taken off for now while I'm still learning the basics): 38 x 300s lights, and posted on here Jan 2010 - my, how quickly we all improve (and become more competent at processing! :)

Details:

RGB One Shot Colour

39x 600sec light exposures - Taken over three nights, and my first meridian flip as I usually get a few hours tracking past it... just wanted to see what was involved...! The final image did require about 10% cropping to accommodate my poor alignment over the three separate sessions.... and my slightly misaligned meridian flip data...:p

Flats(+Bias), Darks processed

Tak FSQ106-ED @ native - 530mm/f.5

SBIG 4000XCM - OSC self guiding @ -20c

IDAS-V2 filter

Tak EM400 mount

Control via 17" G4 Apple Powerbook running MicroProjects Equinox 6 (mount control) and Image (camera control/image acquisition).

Pre-processed, aligned and stacked in Nebulosity2.

Post Processing in PhotoShop CS3 + Noel's Actions

Thanks for looking....

Damian

post-16760-133877608084_thumb.jpg

post-16760-133877608094_thumb.jpg

Love to see these skill evolution shots as it gives newcomers hope for improvement, the depth and noise control are fantastic in the first image clearly a big improvement.

John.