SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What should I expect from 150/1200 Newtonian Reflector?

Hi there,

I'm new to astronomy and new to this forum. I've recently caught the astronomy bug (after many years of being interested, but too lazy to get out there and give it a go).... to think how much observation time I've wasted there!? :)

Anyway, I have a Skywatcher Explorer Newtonian Reflector 150/1200 telescope with an EQ-3-2 mount. I live in the Southend on Sea area (so not a particularly dark spot) and I've been trying to get to grips with my kit over the last few months. I have also recently fitted RA and DEC motors to the mount, which has made a world of difference.

As anyone would be, I was very excited by my first views of Jupiter and particularly of Saturn, and while I don't think I'll ever get bored with these sights, I have to say that I am beginning to become a little disappointed at the lack of detail I'm able to see using my equipment. Naturally Saturn is the object of my attentions at the moment and after several attempts on different evenings I've only been able to view it as a crisp white disc with its rings clear and crisp, but no detail / cassini division.

I'm using a x2 Barlow lens as well as a 10mm eyepiece. Using this 10mm eyepiece often becomes too difficult and I end up returning to the 25mm eyepiece which, while easier on the eye, does not offer the level of magnification I think I need to pick up the detail I'm looking for.

My question really is: with the equipment that I have should I expect to be able to see such detail as the cassini division, planetary atmosphere detail etc..? Or would the reason for not being able to simply be down to 'bad seeing' / light pollution etc..?

My first thought was the latter, but after five or six attempts with my telescope on different nights, I'm beginning to wonder if my equipment is up to the task.