SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Wavelength connfusion - Any help welcome

Hey all,

I understand that narrowband emission filters only let in a tiny amount of the specific light caused by an element in say a nebula.

Say you were looking at a planetary nebula and you put it through 3 filters for nitrogen, hydrogen and oxygen. The nebula would come out nicely right after you had combined the images.

But can you do the same to find out the composition for their main star in the middle? Or this something different involved because they are a star?

Thanks,

Thanks for that Olly, I am studying it closely...

But from what I can gather, and emissions cloud is way to cold compared to it's central star so you couldn't apply narrowband filters to work out its composition, that its done with spectrography which is completely different!?!?

The comparison bandwidths are not sufficient to do that sort of work.

Certainly with a spectroscope, where you can analyse various gaseous contents, temperatures and quantites as well as doppler movements, all things are possible.

Thanks guys very helpful, so the wavelengths studying stars and nebula are very different.

Would it be possible to work out a white dwarfs composition from the material viewed around it in a planetary nebula that had previously been dispersed?

• 2 weeks later...

Stars generally have just thr raw elements in them, nebula can have moleclues of assorted, usually simple compounds in the.

Orion has been found to have the folowing: water (H2O), carbon monoxide (CO), formaldehyde (CH2O), methanol (CH3OH), dimethyl ether (CH3OCH3), hydrogen cyanide (HCN), sulphur oxide (SO) and sulphur dioxide (SO2).

Carbon stars have been found to have simple compounds as part of them, they are cool stars and so compounds can exist in their outer layers.