SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

3.5 mm nagler eyepiece, any good?

Hi, a question about the 3.5mm nagler, im getting a 12" skywatcher auto (dobsonian) and it comes with 10mm and 25mm eyepieces as standard with a power of up to 150x with those two but i am thinking about getting the 3.5 nagler wich will give me 450x magnification, bearing in mind that my scope has a practical power of up to 600x. i know the nagler range are expensive so dont want to rush into it, can anybody help. thanks david.

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm a newbie with a dob looking for the next eye piece, but from what I have been reading and told is that whilst the 12" is more than capable to cope with that EP sadly UK visibility isn't up to much, 250x at a stretch.

Try the Televue eyepiece calculator.

http://www.televue.com/engine/TV3_page.asp?NoBack=True&id=89&plain=TRUE&focal_length=1500&fl_unit=mm&aperture=305&a_unit=mm&fratio=&_2in=yes&Nagler=TRUE&sortby=SortFocalLength&title=&SUBMIT1=CALCULATE

You can plug in the specs of your scope and find out what mag, FOV etc apply for your scope.

John

The 3.5mm Nagler eyepiece is excellent but I really don't think you would get much use out of it in a 12" F/5 scope. 450x exceeds what the typical seeing conditions will allow by a fair margin - 300x would be more likely and even then there will be nights when that's too much.

So a 5mm eyepiece would make much more sense, in my opinion.

The most used focal length eyepiece in most scopes is 13mm - 16mm so, if you are going to invest, that might be the best focal length range to invest in.

Hi

IMO you just wouldn't use an eyepiece of that mag seeing just won't allow it.

TBH I seldom go over 300x even in my 16" scope.

You would be far better off spending your money on an eyepiece you'd use more often.

Regards Steve