Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Modify eos 40d or not?

chouet

I'm still a relative novice astrophotographer, but now have an obsy up and running. I've been using my eos 40d for deep sky (apt software) and am unsure whether to:

- modify the filter

- buy a 2nd hand eos body and modify that

- save the pennies for a good, cooled ccd camera

The 40d is used for general photography too and while I'm no David Bailey, I don't want to be disappointed with normal daylight photos on a modded camera.

Apart from the odd hot pixel, the 40d performs really well on long exposures with no amp glow at all - I wouldn't want to get a 2nd eos which didn't perform as well.

Save for the ccd unless you need it now and on a tight budget or something. In which case get another dslr (possibly pre-mod'ed). Pretty subjective really and all down to personal criteria ;)

Try astronomiser for good reliable mod'ed dslr's.

Edited by brantuk

Hi Chouet,

I was in the same position as you (I think) last December - a 40D, only DSLR in the house, lots of lenses kit to go with it etc. It was a VERY tough decision to have it modded, but I did eventually send it off to astronomiser to have the filter replaced at the cost of c. £200. I was really keen to get the red end of the spectrum...!

I have since used it for "terrestrial" use (using custom white balance to remove the now-pink colour cast on normal photos) and you really wouldn't know the difference. So it can be used very well for both [NOTE: If you didn't want to use CWB, then I see that Astronomik also sell an EOS clip filter to "revert" it back...]