1825338873_SNRPN2021banner.jpg.68bf12c7791f26559c66cf7bce79fe3d.jpg

hi all

super website

i am new to astrononmy an am looking to buy my first telescope. before i joined this forum my idea was to buy a telescope with a goto for ease.

after looking at other entries i realise that might not be the best way to go and have decided to learn the sky myself and spend my pennies on a scope with better size mirror as i see this is the way to get clearer images, after some excellent advice on my first blog i downloaded stellarium to my computer and also purchased a book called 'turn left at orion'

was just after a bit of advice on the best scope to purchase i am looking to spend around 300, no more than 350, from looking about this seems to be a good telescope for my first

Skyliner 200P 8" Parabolic Dobsonian Telescope

seems to have good mirror size and is only £270.00, just wondering before i buy if anyone knows any scopes better for around this price range

p.s love the site

thanks

dan

Hi Dan,

Although it is not a scope I have personal knowledge of I see that lots of members of this forum have a very high regard for this scope.

I am sure plenty of owners will soon be singing it's praises.

It's a great scope, I don't own one but I've looked through a few it is miles better than my own scope but not as portable which is why I don't own one, I honestly don't think there is a better new scope for the price.

Hi Dan,

You couldn't have chosen better for a first telescope. I teach hundreds of people new to astronomy each year, and they all start off with a basic dobsonian just like yours. A scope like this meets all the basic needs of the beginner:

1. Simplicity, simplicity! Just two pieces, light enough for any adult to move and sets up in a minute or less.