SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Baader Hyperion 8-24mm zoom eyepiece mk3

Hi everyone

After reading other threads on SGL with regard to this multi functional eyepiece, could i ask if you feel this will be appropiate for use with a Skywatcher Explorer 150P, as possibly the next step up from the supplied 10 and 25mm eyepieces.

I like the idea of the adaptability of several eyepieces into 1, and being a complete novice would welcome any advice.

Many Thanks

Yup - go for it - the Hyperion mk2 zoom really made a huge difference to my 150p (was my first scope now sold). Several steps up in quality from supplied eye pieces and starter kits - crystal clear views - sharp and contrasty - no noticeable internal reflections.

Great general purpose 5 in 1 grenade style eyepiece. You can attach a camera to it with T-ring and adaptor, it will also take the baader FTR's so you can flex the field stops. Fit's 1.25" or 2" focusers - the Mk3 is the latest one - get the Mk2 s/h for around £100 ish. (I still use mine every session) :)

Note: single eyepieces of similar quality will allways be better - but this is very close to the mark and very good vfm - no hesitation - highly recommended.

I am also considering getting this ep, like the look of it. I have been looking online for a second hand MK2 but with no luck so think I may pay that little extra for the MK3. Would this ep give me a better view than something like the Celestron Omni Plossl eps? as still not 100% on which way to go but slightly leaning toward the MK3 Baader.