Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Opportunities in doing voluntary scientific work in astronomy?

Hi all of you out there in particular those reading who are professional astronomers or anyone else who can help me.

I was considering going back to university to do a post-grad in astronomy/astrophysics in the autumn - probably an MSc followed by a PhD. However the university fees are now so high that I don't really want to remortgage my house or take out a lot of debt to pay for the course at my age.

I really want to do some serious work in astronomy - I am not interested in being paid for it and am looking for some opportunities to contribute.

I have a maths degree and am IT literate (worked 24 years in IT with IBM and Logica).

I am interested in spectroscopy and WR stars but would be happy to work in any area in astronomy/astrophysics.

If anyone can point to some work I can do - the more challenging the subject the better then please let me know.

cheers

John

Hi John,

Since nobody has answered your question yet, I'll suggest the American Association of Variable Star Observers who can be found online at: AAVSO | American Association of Variable Star Observers

It might be worth a start, and the data reported by trusted amateurs has been and continues to be used by professional researchers.

Clear skies,

Mike

Hi John,

There have been a few very successful collaborations between professionals and amateurs over the years. Mainly in photometry, i.e. the AAVSO that Mike mentioned to date, but it seems that amateur spectroscopy is evolving to the level where this is becoming feasible.