SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Eyepiece Help Please for my SkyWatcher 250PX

Rorth72

I have recently bought a SkyWatcher 250PX Dobsonian. I am very pleased with it and have had some great nights viewing so far. I am new to astronomy, so I am on a steep learning curve.

The telescope has a 254mm Mirror and a focal length of 1200mm (f/5). It came with two eyepieces, a 25mm and 10mm, giving magnifications of 48x and 120x. I am using this scope as an all round scope, so will want to use it for DSO as well as Planetary and Lunar work. I have read that the 10mm EP that is supplied isn't up to much and I am not sure how the 25mm compares to better EP's. As I want to do a wide range of observing on this scope could anyone please let me know what EP's I should invest in. I will want a range that can cover it all. Also should I ditch the two that I have also? So basically, just want a range of EP's that will cover from wide field DSO down to high magnification for planetary work.

Also do I need to get any filters? (not sure what they are used for).

Thanks in advance!

What's your budget?

A decent set of eyepieces will be something like:

30-35mm for lower power work. Magnification x34-x40

13-20mm for medium power. Magnification x60-x92

5-10mm for high power work. Magnification x120-x240.

The addition of a barlow will double the collection to six eyepieces.

As to what brand, that's an open question, and down to your budget, there are many excellent eyepieces out there such as the Meade Series 4000s and 5000s, Celestron's Ultimas, the Baader Hyperions, if you have more cash then there are the Televues and the Pentaxes.

If you are a member of a club, then I am sure that fellow members will let you see how their eyepieces perform in your scope.