SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hey guys, looking for some help if you are interested?

EGN TIMELORD

okay so i have set up my telescope during the day (finder scope etc) to best of my abilities, can see things farish away (about a kilometer, easily enough), then @ night i can see street lights well enough but cannot seem to be able to see stars at all, just blackness.

I am completely new to telescopes and live in scotland...... loads of stars very bright in sky.

Info about telescope (dont know what is needed for people to help out so will put on what i think and if you need more info let me know, thanks)

Reflector telescope

Precision Reflecting mirror diameter - 76mm

Focal length - 700mm

31.7mm Diameter Eyepiece - 20mm,12.5mm,4mm

Erecting eyepiece - 1.5X

Max Magnification - 262X

Finderscope - (6X) 25mm

as i said, having great difficulty seeing ANY stars through this and the moon has not been visible recently so cant even check on that.

I would appreciate some help if possible,

thanks for your time

Duncan:)

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Duncan and welcome to SGL. I'm quite new to this too but I would say that the reason you're not seeing any stars is that they are totally out of focus (been there done that) what i did until i got used to my scope was start with the focus fully wound in and then gradually wound it out at a medium pace and you find the stars soon enough.

Hope this helps, if not there are plenty of other here that can advise.

Justin

thanks, i just keep thinking that my scopes are not aligned and thats the problem... possibly not though, need to make sure im facing the star fully first lol. Is your telescope not very secure?? like you have it on something and the tinyest little movement and its gone..... really really sensitive (as in, just looking through the eyepiece could throw it out??