SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Choices and Decisions on new 2 me scope

Since I didnt buy my first scope, and it was given to me, it was apparent from whom it was given, they didn't know what they were buying either. Quick background. First time astronomer here, Currently have the Orion Starblast f/4 scope, 113mm(FL-450mm) After a discussion in my thread about quality of eyepieces, I thought it be best to maybe try a slower scope. After much reading and understanding of the eyepiece debates, and sure, I could buy expensive EPs now and have them for later, but It might be good to start a little slower. I decided and somebody mentioned it was a good idea, to get a different scope for now.

I was planning on using the same mount I already have. its a Eq-1 mount, that I am still learning how to use, but its simple to understand for me. I have a couple choices on some new to used scopes..Just unsure of the quality I should be expecting.

Note: still my beginner scope, This would be for DSOs, Open and Globular clusters, etc....

Option #1-Celestron Nexstar 114gt (Newtonian 114mm reflector; 1000mm f/9 focal length) *Used*

Option #2-Meade 114mm Reflector (White OTA with a f/8.8) *NEW*

Option #3- Meade 114Eq-ASTR 4.5" 114mm (f/8.8 1000mm) *NEW*

This is still going to be considered my "first" scope, I will probably hold onto the orion just in case I maybe get into astrophotography later on, but for now, I want to continue to enjoy the sky!

Thanks in advance for all of you whom answer these questions that probably repeat themselves endlessly. I have used the search and really couldnt find what I was looking for. :)

I'll be honest and say that I don't think any of the scopes listed will show you better views of DSO's than your current scope does - they only add 1mm to the aperture !.

You need to think about more aperture, rather than a slower scope. 6" minimum I would say and the best value way to get there is a 6" dobsonian: