Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Need help buying first telescope!

Hello all!

I'm new to the forum and I'm excited to enhance my knowledge in astronomy :eek:

I know very little about telescopes or even what to look for when buying one. I'd love to buy an expensive telescope that can view deep space and has a good camera but I'm a poor graduate student so I'd be limited in what I can buy :)

Any advice on what sorts of telescopes I should look for that are cheap but still powerful enough to view celestial objects not visible to the naked eye?

Thank you!

-neurostar

Hi Neurostar - what budget have you set aside for the scope? There are many different types, sizes, and prices. Also - will it be fixed in place or will you need to be portable? If you are very light polluted where you use it then deep sky objects will be very difficult to see. :)

Hi Neurostar - what budget have you set aside for the scope? There are many different types, sizes, and prices. Also - will it be fixed in place or will you need to be portable? If you are very light polluted where you use it then deep sky objects will be very difficult to see. :)

Hi,

thank you for your reply!

i'm not sure if it would need to be portable or not. i'm guessing portable is more expensive? also, i'm not sure if i'll have much light polution (i haven't moved yet) but that is something I will keep in mind!

i probably could not spend more than $100. could i get a quality scope for around that much?

-neurostar

I recommend the Skywatcher Skyliner 200p easy to use and get great views of everything...

Thank you for the recommendation! The Skywatcher Skyliner 200p is a little expensive for me though..

From doing some browsing I'm starting to feel like I need to spend at least $200-300 for a good telescope.

Should I look for used telescopes?

I would think it better to spend your money on the best pair of binoculars you can afford.