Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Fantastic BGO

Damo636

Hi everyone. I just wanted to share a few thoughts about the above ep's. I am going through a phase of trying to settle on a couple of dedicated planetary ep's. I have in my possession at the minute a 5 and 6mm Baader Genuine Ortho and the 5 and 6mm TMB Planetary ll. I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination but just wanted to see if anyone had similar thoughts as to mine to do with these ep's. I have owned a couple of TMB's in the past and liked them very much but had never really considered orthos because of the tight eye relief and narrow fov. Boy have i been missing out! The BGO's are a stunning ep imho. Yes the fov is narrow and the eye relief tight but the the quality of view more than makes up for this. The seeing was very good here last night so i had only one target in mind, lovely Saturn. There is no doubt the TMB ep's are very comfortable to use with the dob. With the adjustable eye relief and 58 degree fov it definately wins on comfort of use. Strangely enough i found the 5mm easier to bring to focus than the 6mm. With the 5mm, 240X, i could just about resolve the Cassini Division but could not with the 6mm. With the BGO i managed it with both. With the 5mm it looked like someone had drawn a black pencil line around the circumference of the ring. I had never seen it like this and was in total awe looking at it. The planet through the TMB looked a little warmer compared to the BGO and the contrast not quite as nice. I did notice some internal reflection with the TMB but when i put a towel over my head they all but disappeared. I did not have this issue with the orthos. The TMB is a good ep for the price but for out and out quality of view the BGO wins this with ease. I will be ordering the 7mm to complete my planetary collection.

Ps. Does anyone know how well they barlow? Considering the 9mm + barlow combo instead of the 4mm ep.

Cheers

Damo