SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Orion Nebula at SGL6

G2EWS

Hi All,

Be gentle with me, this is my first attempt. Well not quite true as I did one other and put it on facebook, but the camera was out of focus!

This was 19 x 30 second shots on the telescope using the Nikon D3X. I spent a lot of time trying to get the image in focus and without a shield that goes on the front of the telescope this was the best I could do.

The images are stacked using Deep Sky Stacker which was a complete minefield for a novice, but after about 20 attempts I got something remotely resembling the Orion Nebula!

I then worked in Photoshop with many sharpen, noise reduction, curves, levels, back ground copies and finally Nik Viveza to get the black correct. It was again an act of jumbling with the various settings to get the colour out, remove the horrendous marks on my D3X sensor - Thanks to my photography mate Peter for coming over yesterday and getting rid of them! - and making the blacks, black.

Nonetheless I am very pleased with it and look forward to getting the future ones in better focus to start with.

Best regards

Chris

post-23987-133877565617_thumb.jpg

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply
sorry to rain on your parade but the bit you have as bright blue should be various shades of red. Also there is virtually never any black in an astro picture.

Artistic license! :)

Good amount of detail for 30 second subs (I had a look by playing with the curves).

sorry to rain on your parade but the bit you have as bright blue should be various shades of red. Also there is virtually never any black in an astro picture.

Dennis

Yep,the sky aint black so your photography mate got that wrong for you.