Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Jessops TA800-80 from a novice perspective

Reading reviews here has been very interesting and helpfull for me, i am a complete novice too astronomy and only just recieved my first telescope 2 days ago. Normaly id never atempt too review something i am so new too, in fact i dont think i have ever reviewed anything before!. But due too the nature of the scope i thought mabey a complete novice review of this telescope might be helpfull to other complete newbies like myself!.

The telescope in question.

Jessops Reflector Telescope TA800-80

* 800mm Focal Length

* 80mm Objective

* Electronic Red Dot Finder Scope

* 3x Barlow Lens

* 6mm, 12.5mm & 20mm Eyepieces

* Tripod

Eyepieces

20mm eyepiece = 40x magnification or 120x magnification when used in conjunction with the 3x Barlow lens.

12.5mm eyepiece = 64x magnification or 192x magnification when used in conjunction with the 3x Barlow lens

6mm eyepiece = 133x magnification or 399 magnification when used in conjunction with the 3x Barlow lens

This Telescope retailed for £100 originaly, then dropped too £50 - and as low as 39.99 clearance price. So is an extreamly cheap scope. I have seen many people advise not touching this scope or any "department" type scope with a barge pole, however i feel if you understand thier limitations and what too exspect from them they can be of use in the right circumstances!.

First impressions strait out the box-this telescope acctualy looks pretty sturdy! the tripod is aluminium and takes seconds too assemble/dismantle, very novice friendly. It took me and my girlfriend 5 mins too unpack and assemble the complete telescope having never done so before.