SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Celestron Skymaster 15x70 Binos Review

bus_ter

Last night I got first light with my new Celestron Skymaster 15x70 Binoculars from FLO. I've never used binos for astronomy before, so I can only compare my view to my mak127 scope. However I can describe how a few common sky objects appeared last night from my light polluted home location.

Jupiter - The four Galilean moons were easily resolved as four dotted points around Jupiter. The planet itself appeared as a small very bright white ball. No colour or surface detail was viewable. Around the edges of Jupiter I could see red/green CA. I was surprised by just how bright Jupiter appeared, blowing out any hint of colour. With an ND filter and stable mount I would expect to see at least some colour.

Andromeda - Easily located and looked like a little smudge, which to be fair is exactly how it looks through my scope from my location.

Orions Neb - The binos resolved a lot of stars around the Nebula area, but there was no 'nebulosity' apparent. This is mostly due to being in a light polluted location.

Stars/Clusters - Where you see one star with the naked eye you see 20 through the binos. They remain sharp and without noticeable CA. Stars also keep their colour well, red stars stay red, blue stars blue etc (unlike my finder scope where every star looks the same..) Star clusters looked great filling the view with stars.

Build and accessories

These binos are substantial, in fact larger than I imagined they would be. They're also fairly heavy, so only suited for short viewing sessions, but still quite manageable. Any bigger would be too big IMHO. Leaning against a wall helps a lot, as does supporting the weight of the binos. The binoculars come with a tripod mount adapter which looks a little flimsy and might produce some vibration, but would still be better than freeholding.