Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Skyliner 200 Dobsonian. The beginning

JonM

Telescope?authkey=Gv1sRgCImhgc3FsbXXIg#5514612375637270882Hi,

My new telescope arrived today. I thought i’d write this to help those still trying to decide what to go for. I'm by no means an expert,far,far from it. In fact,this is my first 'proper' telescope. Apologies for the length of the 'review',and for the simplicity!!!:)

It was between the Skywatcher 200 Dobsonian,or the Skywatcher Explorer 150 Newtonian. I went for the dob on account of the extra aperture and various reviews around here.

I ordered the Skywatcher ‘Skyliner’ 200 Dobsonian from First Light Optics. Sadly, they were waiting for stock to arrive at the suppliers,so i had to wait(not easy). I can’t fault the service as Martin did keep me posted on progress. To say i was excited when i walked in the door to see two large boxes would be an understatment.

attachment.php?attachmentid=42356&stc=1&d=1283970925

So,i immediately set to unpacking. I unpacked the smaller box,which held the base,plus all the tools needed for the job.

attachment.php?attachmentid=42357&stc=1&d=1283971177

The instructions are very well done,even i,a complete disaster at anything involving DIY plowed through the set up quite easily. It took me just under 45 minutes,which,considering my lack of skills in flat pack building,isn’t too bad

attachment.php?attachmentid=42359&stc=1&d=1283971347

Next came the big box. The big grin returned as i opened the outer box,then the inner box,and there she was..all snug and protected in lots of polystyrene.

I carefully got the tube out and unwrapped the wrapping,and then placed it onto the base. I will say that the weight really surprised me. I was expecting it all to be quite heavy,but i found it all very easy to lift and move around. It may be that i’m used to lifting because of my job,but it really isn’t that bad at all.

attachment.php?attachmentid=42361&stc=1&d=1283971475