Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

imaging and filter's

mikeglr

hi could anyone help the other night i thought i'd have a go at the eskimo nebula, as the moon was up and bright i used uhc filter i got a good focus on procyon so then set myself up for the eskimo but nothing showed up on my photo's {not even background star's}. i was taking 2 min exposure's so i thought i'd have seen something. i'm using 150p newt on eq3 with cannon 1000d, as far as i could tell i had good polar aligment as no trail's showed up on my test shot's of procyon and had good three star alignment

should add that to get a focus i have to use my barlow x2 so to use my filter i had to add my 10mm eyepiece so was quite high magnifcation {10mm is the lowest mag eyepiece that will fit}

i'm new to this so probably doing something wrong any help would be very appreciated

I've read and re-read your post and still I'm confused???

You use the Barlow to focus? You then added a 10mm eyepiece with the UHC filter???

The test shots show good images of Procyon... with the Canon1000..

OK Where does the eyepiece come in when your imaging with the Canon?????

I'm guessing... the Canon won't reach focus in the focuser??? without something??? a Barlow??

If you can clarify the set up you use for the imaging i.e. what is connected to what; we can probably help you.

hi i'll try and explain a bit clearer

i've got a t-ring which connect's to the camera.

t-adapter which fit's to the t-ring and goes onto the eyepiece of the scope.

what i found was i couldn't get a focus using the t-adapter even if i use eyepiece's in the t- adapter

so i unscrewed it and screwed on my barlow instead{my barlow has a threaded end which fit's the t-ring} which worked fine {i've been told it's called negetive focus or something}

only problem is i can't scew a filter onto the barlow so i have to use my eyepiece with the barlow