Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello

Neptune38

Hi everyone  :hello:

Newbie here, i'm going to be getting my 1st telescope in the next week or so, have decided on a Sky-watcher Evostar 90. Really looking forward to getting started. Have been doing lots of reading to learn what i can before i get started. Any tips and advice very welcome.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL - You may like to look at downloading Stellarium for your PC - A great planetarium programme that will really help you navigate around as required :D

Look forward to seeing you around :)

Hi Sara,

Thanks for the heads up on Stellarium, i will check it out, this evening  :icon_mrgreen:

Hi and welcome. Are you having the eq or the az mount?

Hi Dave,

I haven't decided 100% which to go for as yet, but a couple of people on here advised me last night to go for the AZ mount, with it being easier to set up, but have done a bit of research on it, and with the EQ2 mount being especially for astronomical use, i don't plan on using my telescope for terrestrial use and i will more than likely be sticking with the Sky-watcher for quite a while, i think i will be going for the EQ mount.

Hi everyone  :hello:

Newbie here, i'm going to be getting my 1st telescope in the next week or so, have decided on a Sky-watcher Evostar 90. Really looking forward to getting started. Have been doing lots of reading to learn what i can before i get started. Any tips and advice very welcome.

Wrap up warm as Winter is setting in ( Snow here today!) and just get used to your new scope  before any  considered upgrades.

Welcome to the SGL.

Also, if you have not discovered it yet, download and install the free software package called Stellarium. Totally safe, and an amazing addition for our hobby. Set-up for your location, and enjoy. There's lots in there.  :smiley: