Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Noob needs a little more advice

Hello all,

So I have found an astronomy club nearby and am going to join. I talked with them and mentioned that I travel a lot. So they said I should get either the celestron travel 60mm or 70mm. And I mean they are cheap and look pretty nice but idk how good they are I heard celestron makes a good scope. And I have a local store that carries the celestron national parks foundation travel 60mm scope. It's 90 dollars and I have a 40% off cupon would this be a good scope to get

Well I'm saving up for a nice stationary scope at my house. I'm going to dedicate a room to it. I don't have a ton of room when traveling, but I can fit an extra backpack in the car. I'm a complete noob I literally don't know much about astronomy but I'm definitely wanting to learn and got some books and a subscription to sky and telescope magazine. So I'm learning. As far as budget goes well most of my funds I'm saving up are going to the big stationary scope. However I'd like to start now and learn as much as I can until I get a really good scope. My funds right now are 120.00 dollars or under. I picked up some nice Nikon aculon binos in 10x50. The club recommended the bushnell power view 12x48. So I got some decent binoculars now I'd like to get a decent scope I can travel with. Lol I looked at the celestron it's small and seems like it's decent quality.