Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Worth the extra money!

Hi there!

I am just getting started and I have myy eye on the Skywatcher 127 with supatrakor the Celestron 127 goto ( heard both are very similar) however I have seen the Celeston Nexstar 5 and am wondering what peoples view's are on it an in particular weather or not it is worth the extra money(nearly double) and why is it sold of so much more than the others?

p.s is it possible to get the CN5 ( or indeed the 127) without the go-to but still tracks?

Thanks for your help!

No idea what "supatrakor" is, I am assuming that it is tracking only.

Personally I suggest the goto, reason being that the field of view from a Mak will be fairly narrow and you will have to find the objects, it is not as easy as made out, and the wider your field the better. A goto should when well aligned put the object in view with a 30-32mm plossl. The chance of you getting something in view is less.

The 127 comes in goto form from Skywatcher also.

Part of the reason is also that you probably want to see things rather then spend 5 minutes everything locating them.

The Celestrons tend to be considered better then the Skywatchers, but there are tales of much wailing and tearing of hair with either option. They require data and that HAS to be correct and in the right order. Skywatchyer and Celestron are both owned by Synta, so to an extent are somewhat similar, not identical however.

There will be a club near you, if possible get along and look at what is used. That is a fairly good indication of "useful" equipment. One club I visited the equipment was 80% goto Mak's or SCT's in the 5 and 6 inch range, working on the basis that the people there had a fair bit of experience it showed that these were the popular and most selected scopes.