Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie 'what telescope' advice....!

Hi All

Absolute newbie here, I’ve had a lifelong interest in science and physics and the cosmos and after my wife badgered me about what present I wanted for my 40th have decided that I would really like to turn my intellectual interest into looking at the skies.

I know there are a load of ‘which telescope should I buy’ threads, but I’m afraid, here is another one!!!

I have been a lurker on the forum for a fair while and have read lots of advice and helpful tips for newbies but I am still really undecided on what to get.

I live in Luton and have discovered via light pollution maps that this is a pretty polluted area, however I am right at the northern tip where the pollution drops off a bit, and am only 5 mins from some fairly low polluted countryside I think.

I also have an interest in photography in general and have a fairly good DSLR, and I guess this is the root of where my indecision is coming from.  I think I have identified 4 contenders for various reasons, around £200-£300ish linked below….

http://www.tringastro.co.uk/sky-watcher-explorer-130p-synscan-az-goto-telescope-528-p.asp

http://www.tringastro.co.uk/sky-watcher-skyliner-200p-dobsonian-telescope-454-p.asp

http://www.tringastro.co.uk/sky-watcher-skyliner-150p-dobsonian-telescope-451-p.asp

http://www.tringastro.co.uk/celestron-nexstar-130-slt-356-p.asp

I think I have worked out that the 200P is the ‘best’ telescope in terms of the view I would get.  I have also figured out that it’s probably the easiest, along with its smaller brother the 150P to effectively ‘point and shoot’ and see something.  How much value would I get out of the 200P compared to the 150P?  Does the relative light pollution play any part in a decision of the 150P vs the 200P?