SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from moonlit Gosport Hampshire

The storm fisherman

Welcome my name is Paul and I have been member of his very friendly and informative forum for the last 6 months. but it has taken up till now to put a post on the board as I wanted to make sure I was happy with my self and to have enough knowledge so as to make a fool of myself as I can be a bit shy .

I am new to this wonderful hobby and I am still learning but at least I have not jumped in and purchased a scope yet and that's even after 6 months  of chopping and changing my mind but I am getting closer to a decision now on getting the right scope and mount for me,my circumstances and budget as it has to be portable.

I am quite lucky here as I live within a 2 minute walk of my local park/playing fields (Privett park) and although it is surrounded by houses the street lamps outside the park have just been replaced with the new type and they are dimmed down after midnight when most the lights in houses are turned out making it a good reasonable suburban dark site but is open space and is open all day and night.

My current set up is an Orion 15 x 70 binoculars, a Nikon D5200 with a Tamron 11-28 wide field lens and a Tamron 18-300mm lens, Nano tracker for the Dslr and various tripods. 

I hope to get in the near future an Explore Scientific ED triple APO 80mm scope + SCT SCOPE and an HEQ5 Tripod to do some Astro-photography with, but that’s for later down the line. And Because I have no car I only have a 125cc moped with some storage space so my gear has to be light weight and potable.

Paul

Hi Paul and welcome to the forum. Never worry about asking a daft question as we've all been there (....I most definitely have) and that's how we learn and improve so as to pass it on down the line. There is a lot of help waiting for you so don't hesitate to pop a question or two under the relevant section and the suggestions will come rolling in.