Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Finally used my telescope for the first time!

Got my first telescope 3 weeks ago for my 53rd birthday, but couldn't get to use it until last night due to the poor weather. Finally managed to get an hour in last night from 8pm to 9pm in my back garden. The light pollution is quite bad out there due to street lights shining over the garden a bit from the back and my neighbours having all their patio lit up.

Anyhow, I am an absolute noob at this, and don't even know my constellations. I did try a few apps on my phone, but they were pretty useless as far as I could see. They didn't match what i could see at all, and they even put the moon nowhere near where it was! I have a planisphere, but again it wasn't much help. I guess one of the problems is that I'm surrounded by other houses even at the back and can't guage where the horizon is and that makes matching things up a lot harder for a noob like me.

Having said that, even I know what the moon looks like, so I spent quite a while looking at that and was impressed at the detail I could see through my 8" Skwatcher 200P Dob using the supplied 10mm eyepiece. I showed my wife and she was amazed. She said it was almost as if she'd visited the moon lol!

Even though I had no idea what stars I was looking at I was amazed how many I could see in a given bit of sky compared to what i could see with my own eyes. I can only imagine how great it would look at a dark site!

The one thing that I think will take a lot of getting used to is the fact that images are upside down and reversed left to right. I really had to concentrate on moving the scope the opposite way to what felt instinctive. I will probably get a RACI finderscope and Telrad to help with that and to help me having to spend so much time in un-natural positions, which hurt my back after a while.