Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Can't focus on stars my Skywatcher Heritage 130p

Hi

I am very new to this star gazing world. I have Skywatcher Heritage 130p. I can focus pretty good on moon, but when i try to focus on stars when using 10mm eye-piece or 25mm eyepiece with barlow, i find it impossible to focus. I only achieve good focus with my 25mm eye piece i.e in 26 magnification. Anyone got an idea why i fail to focus... ?  i have done collimation using laser collimator. 

//Rizwan 

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Use a bahtinov mask  without the barlow on a bright star , get your spiking the same length on all sides that's focus. If it doesn't check your collimation. I used to use a laser collimator but, since found that my pinhole eyepiece does the trick with less fuss. Make sure the black dot is in the absolute center of the donut ring.

It's possible the seeing condiditons did not allow for higher magnifications. In my 10x50s or 9x50 finder the moon is always sharp, but in my scope at 36x or higher I start to see wobbling due to atmospheric seeing.

If at these higher magnifications the moon still looks sharp, but the stars do not, it may be collimation.

I had found when I looked at the double cluster in my scope that dimmer stars tend to look less sharp than brighter ones, probably due to the way our eyes see detail in low light?

~pip

Hope you don't mind me asking but are you using it outside?  Through the glass of a window would cause all sorts of problems.

Focusing with one ep should be the same as with another.  - though the 10mm might be harder to use.  If you can focus on the moon with the 10mm you should be focused on stars too - i.e. without touching the focuser.

• 4 weeks later...

Sorry for the delayed response. My problem stays as it is but may be now I can give more details