SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First go at M45 on first night with new mount. Wow!

This is my first attempt to image M45. It was taken two nights ago on my my first go with the new HEQ5. It wasn't level so the stars are not quite right but I have to say I am astonished at the result. What a beautiful sight the Pleiades are...

20 X 5mins, iso 1600, calibration frames and processed in Photoshop. Gradient removed with DBE. 

post-35654-0-11771800-1444496575_thumb.j

Good job Tim...The Pleiades are in a decent spot now...was also good to see Orion last night clearing the trees late on...

Did you use the MGEN for guiding? I am contemplating getting one to reduce clutter but they aren't half pricey...

Good job Tim...The Pleiades are in a decent spot now...was also good to see Orion last night clearing the trees late on...

Did you use the MGEN for guiding? I am contemplating getting one to reduce clutter but they aren't half pricey...

Stuart,

I used the MGEN. I know its expensive but I don't have a laptop and saved on that. They are also a bit cheaper if you buy from Telescop Express or AstroMarket, though best to wait till the exchange rate is good! Tim. 

Smashing image Tim. Don't get too hung up on the levelling of your mount.

Levelling North-South is completely compensated for by the altitude adjustment bolts.

Levelling East-West just gets the Polaris hour-angle correct with reference to your polarscope, assuming that it is aligned in the mount properly in the first place.

I regularly do five minute (or more) guided subs from a rough alignment with my polarscope (AZ-EQ6, but same principle) and my problems are not oval stars from poor PA. You might be having some backlash that happens faster than your guider can correct for. Or something else, perhaps: The stars are not trailing in the same direction all over the image - Are you not using a coma corrector yet?