SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Star Analyser and RSpec Use In School (Physics Class)

Hi folks, apart from a bit of lurking I'm new to this part of the forum so I thought I'd introduce myself before asking for your help and advice.

As well  enjoying astronomy as a  personal interest, mainly visual but experimenting with photography, I'm also a secondary school Physics Teacher in Fife.   A recent change in our Higher Physics curriculum has seen the welcome introduction of a cosmology unit in which we discuss stellar evolution/classification, and investigate the expansion of the universe through the context of Hubble's Law.  Spectrometry features as a means to measure  redshift and hence to discern the recessional velocity of  stars/galaxies.  I'm looking to introduce a practical dimension to the unit possibly looking to develop it if suitable for use as formal investigation which contributes to the pupils overall assessment.

I've looked at the possible use of the Star Analyser together with RSpec software.  I was wondering how practicable the proposition would be to use the star analyser to allow the student to obtain and then analyse the spectra from some of the brighter stars with a view to perhaps determining classification, temperature, identification of principal absorption lines for comparison against reference spectra, and if possible detection of red shift in the spectra.  Our department has available for use SW Equinox 80 APO Pro,  an 8 inch Newtonian reflector,  an imaging source DFK 21 AU04, and an DSLR (EOS 500D).  I've taken a look through some of the u tube tutorial on the use of RSpec and while I wouldn't be looking to use anywhere near its full capability I think we could use it to provide a basic analysis of any spectra we capture.