SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

PHD problem

CSM

I am trying to train my mount using PECTool and PHD2 with an Orion G3 Starshoot camera for guiding.  This is my first time of using PHD and although everything seems to be going fine after about 5 mins or so PHD gives a message saying that the star has failed to move enough. The PHD help says 

'The star moves during calibration but it moves "too far" or "too little."  This is easy to fix - simply adjust the 'calibration step-size' parameter in the 'Mount' tabs'

but gives no indication as to which way one should alter the step-size and have tried increasing (doubling) and decreasing (halving) it with exactly the same result.

Any advice would be most welcome!

Thanks

From memory PhD needs the guide star to move about 24 pixels to successfully calibrate.

If it's reporting that the star isn't moving far enough, you can increase the guide pulse duration in PHD or maybe increase your mount guide rate if you have the facility.

Also - where is your scope pointing while you're trying to calibrate? You'll struggle if you're near the pole.

Hi Steve,  yes star did move but reading the manuals again I am pretty certain it is all down to the fact that I didn't have the star properly aligned in RA and DEC.  Will be trying again tonight.

Well after 3 unsuccessful hours I have come to the conclusion that I really am a dummy!  First hour not a program problem although PHD was complaining about the CameraXSize not active..  Reloaded Ascom and did various other things but eventually it was solved - take the computer cable out and put it back in again!

But the next 2 hours was spent constantly changing parameters and watching PHD trying to calibrate.  It did almost manage it once but then moved to the East step and lost the star.  Looking at the help and on-line it seems that calibration might be a bit of an issue!  Guess I will be looking for another program.  Anyone any suggestions?